Procrastination Power

We’ll do it tomorrow….

Edward Anderson
3 min readFeb 5, 2021

--

Photo by Suzy Hazelwood from Pexels

Who procrastinates? Raise your hands. Wait, you’re reading this, and I can’t see you. Just so that you don’t feel so bad, I want you to know that I procrastinate all the time. Right now, I should be working on a romance short story with the possibility of becoming a script.

Instead, I was playing on Facebook and writing this essay. Most of my teachers and mentors have yelled at me over the years, telling me to concentrate and put my nose to the grindstone. They say if I did that, I could be successful. Who wants to tell them that they were wrong?

Does that seem cynical to you? It probably does, but they were. Over the course of my career, some of the best work I have produced has come from procrastinating. When I was ghostwriting, there were many fo projects that I would wait until the last minute to write—one in particular springs to mind. The client was one of my favorites, she always sent me work, but the stories she wanted me to write were a little out there. And this is coming from someone who wrote a story about twerking dinosaurs.

This particular client had a penchant for having male characters. Usually, anti-heroes or villains turn into females and fall in love with their best friends or mourning men who lost their lives tragically. During this period, I was also working at the…

--

--

Edward Anderson

Edward has written hundreds of acclaimed true crime articles and has won numerous awards for his short stories. His most recent book is Barbenheimer.